PDA

View Full Version : How much chaff is too mucH?

fishound7
18-01-2013, 04:53
So i'm starting a new beastmen army and tryin to think outside the box. I am wanting a woodelf ish style but using combat to destroy the enemy instead of range. I've watched tons of video's on tactics and battle reports on 8th but i have little experience with it. I think i played like 3 games or so

It seems to me that missle units are not as popular as it was in 7th. some people don't take any missle units.

I would like to dominate the movement phase with beastmen. I also think beastmen have great access to cheap chaff.

So the question is how much is too much? i know this is dependant on meta but is 5 or 8 units of chaff to much?

I need enough chaff to counter chaff which i think raiders are great for and enough chaff to shut down say two units of hordestars

How many chaff units does it take to shutdown a hordestar?

Assuming i can't control turn one. The enemy has 5 turns of movement so 5 units each per hordestar in opposition? maybe a spare or two for casualties? so if i wanted to stop 2 hordestar units should i have 10 or 12 units of chaff? Thats only 300-360 points between dogs and raiders. prolly throw in a unit or two of harpies also. With that much i'll dominate deployment. Is that too many points allocated to chaff? Probably 3/4 of that chaff will die. Is that an acceptable amount of loss? Or is this a stupid idea?

Sh4d0w
18-01-2013, 05:19
So i'm starting a new beastmen army and tryin to think outside the box. I am wanting a woodelf ish style but using combat to destroy the enemy instead of range. I've watched tons of video's on tactics and battle reports on 8th but i have little experience with it. I think i played like 3 games or so

It seems to me that missle units are not as popular as it was in 7th. some people don't take any missle units.

I would like to dominate the movement phase with beastmen. I also think beastmen have great access to cheap chaff.