PDA

View Full Version : Banner of eternal flame - Magical?



Eldorad
24-01-2013, 13:30
Do attacks made by a unit carrying the banner of eternal flame count as magical? (ie can they damage ethereal creatures?)

Initial thoughts: no, the banner grants the unit flaming attacks, doesn't say magical.

However the effect is innately magical?

...

Never had this problem with Dwarfs as a rune making something flaming in a Dwarf list is inherently magical.

T10
24-01-2013, 13:48
No.

-T10

GotrekFan
24-01-2013, 14:21
It's been a while since this question came up last. What is it, about 6 weeks?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AntaresCD
24-01-2013, 16:56
To be clear, the definition of Magical Attacks is in the BRB FAQ:

Q: What are ‘magical attacks’? (p68)
A: All attacks made by spells and magic items are considered
to be magical attacks, as are all attacks that are specifically
noted as being magical attacks. Shots fired from magical items
are also considered to be magical attacks, unless their
description specifically states otherwise. Hits inflicted by rolls
on the Miscast table are treated as magical attacks.

So for this specific question, the Banner is not what is attacking, it is the unit that the banner is in, and since the banner does not specifically grant Magical Attacks, they do not have them (unless they have it from another source, of course).

Also, one quick gotcha: If attacking with a magical weapon, the Flaming Attack rule doesn't apply for its attacks (see the Flaming Attack Special Rule in the BRB - it's a commonly missed clause). It only applies to magic weapons though, if your attacks are magical due to other reasons then that clause does not cause Flaming Attacks to be ignored.

Eldorad
24-01-2013, 22:02
To be clear, the definition of Magical Attacks is in the BRB FAQ:

Q: What are ‘magical attacks’? (p68)
A: All attacks made by spells and magic items are considered
to be magical attacks, as are all attacks that are specifically
noted as being magical attacks. Shots fired from magical items
are also considered to be magical attacks, unless their
description specifically states otherwise. Hits inflicted by rolls
on the Miscast table are treated as magical attacks.

So for this specific question, the Banner is not what is attacking, it is the unit that the banner is in, and since the banner does not specifically grant Magical Attacks, they do not have them (unless they have it from another source, of course).

Thanks. I had read the FAQ but wanted to check if I'd missed something.


It's been a while since this question came up last. What is it, about 6 weeks?

With a bit more advanced searching it seems to be July 2012. What is it, about 6 months (http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?345664-Banner-of-Eternal-flame-and-Razor-standard-magic-weapons&highlight=flaming+magical)?

And clearly if it comes up so often, it's not clear to us mere mortals.

GotrekFan
25-01-2013, 13:03
@ Eldorad, I meant no offence to yourself but this question is asked a lot and it sure feels to me like it was more recent than July.

The important thing is that you got your answer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk