PDA

View Full Version : Space Marine Comparison

ZorroRooster
01-03-2013, 22:26
I'm extremely new to 40k (I dont have any minis except the one I got to keep when I learned the basics of painting at my local GW store).

I'm currently undertaking the long and arduous process of saving up for a 40k starter set (the space marine/chaos marine one). I dont have any friends that play, and so have no access to any rules or chapter specific codices. So far, I've done the only thing a broke person can do: read the wiki. Ive been reading up on SM chapters, mostly the more well known ones, and I'd like to, once I have the money, create a chapter specific army.

So I pose a rather daunting (or at least a potentially long) thread question. What are the major chapters with which you can build an entire army, and what are their pros and cons?

Off the top of my head, I can think of Salamanders, Dark Angels, Blood Angels, Ultramarines.

I absolutely love the backstory and fluff for the Dark Angels, and the video game Space Marine got me into the Ultramarines. I'm thinking of going all DA or all Ultramarine when finances allow.

Could I get some help so I dont waste what little money I'll have on an army I may wind up hating?

Starting out this will just be for fun, but I'd like to eventually take part in tournaments.

Commissar Davis
01-03-2013, 23:51
Also try the Lexicanum (http://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Main_Page), and if you really want a Space Marine army and have questions, try here (http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/)

There are effectively 5 variations of Loyalist Space Marines. You have those of the Codex Space Marines, Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves and Black Templars. I would suggest NOT starting Black Templars, it is a very old codex and suffers for it and is way past due for an update.