PDA

View Full Version : Need a damn shove in the right direction for an army...

Daemonn
30-04-2013, 09:56
Having a brutal awful time deciding what army to play. I am new to 8th edition and played High Elves back in the day. I am not partial to any playstyle or army type. Just having an insanely hard time choosing as I am not so familiar with the state of the game. Also, the guy at my local shop isnt making it any easier. I was pretty set on Wood Elves and he said theres a couple wood elf players and no one likes playing against their armies because they are avoidance armies.

So I am currently between:

Skaven
Wood Elves
Vampire Counts
Lizardmen
Dark Elves

Leaning mostly towards Wood Elves and Skaven... Vampire Counts seem fun, but also like a lot of people play them. I would like to try Daemons of Chaos sometime too, but it seems very popular also.

Any advice or pushes in directions would be awesome. Thanks

Lord Solar Plexus
30-04-2013, 10:04
Vampires. They have the only new book amongst that list, which is already the best reason to pick them. Skaven and Woodies are said to be polar opposites in terms of strength, with Woodies at the bottom.

If that isn't convincing, pick DE. Just note that either one of those except Vampires might get a new AB sometime soonish.

Daemonn
30-04-2013, 10:29
Vampires were honestly my first interest, but was kinda turned away when it seemed like 7th edition had a ton of VC players. My only fear is picking an army that I will hate aesthetically and/or to play with... second is i hope what i pick is well received at my local club. I dont normally build cheese lists or anything, but the opinion of the guy at the shop made me all self conscious lol. I dont mind playing an underdog army, like WE seem made out to be right now, I just dont want other players to roll their eyes when I ask for a local pick up game because of my army... any help in avoiding that would be awesome!