PDA

View Full Version : When to use the command group elements.

UltraTacSgt
02-05-2013, 02:47
So I am building up my models for my first WHFB army and I am wondering how to go about modelling some of them. My questioning centers around whether or not to build musicians, standard bearers, and champions.

I am going to play High Elves and intend to go Core/Special Infantry heavy with a unit of Dragon Princes flanking around. If that information is at all helpful.

My rulebook is still in the mail so I don't fully understand the use of the command group as far as what they actually do, and I'm new to Fantasy so I have a tentative grasp on the tactics involved with the decision about whether or not to take them. My understanding so far is as follows: Musician - helps somehow w/ movement and combat resolution. Standard - probably helps combat resolution, otherwise no idea what this does. Champion - basically a Sergeant (40k), can get wargear and fight challenges.

What kinds of units (intended unit role or unit type) do you generally put your command group elements in?

Why would I want a champion if I wasn't planning on putting a character in the unit that needed duel protection?

When would I want to put a musician or standard in a unit?

When would I want to go whole hog and take full command?

I am interested in hearing about all aspects, nuances, and combos you like as far as using command groups in your army.

Thanks

Lord Inquisitor
02-05-2013, 02:58
When in doubt, just make full command - you'll want full command most of the time.

To break it down:

Musician.
Really I think the most important and useful for any unit. It wins ties in combat, it gives you +1 Ld when rallying and most important it allows you to make swift reforms.

Standard Bearer.