PDA

View Full Version : Random movement, flee, terror and charge reactions



Lord Solar Plexus
11-05-2013, 18:00
This came up lately in a discussion:

#1: p. 74, random movement says these units do not declare charges. While they do count as charging if they make contact, no charge reaction is allowed.

#2: p. 74, right-hand column, 1st para says fleeing units must make a "flee" charge reaction. Am I right that this is not widely known and that it supersedes #1?

#3: cit.loc. also says that units which have failed a Terror test must flee from the charge of a random mover. I'm a bit irritated what charge means when there is none at the time of the test unless at this point we already know that the RM will contact the unit and charge means the counts as charge.

#4: p. 78 Terror tells us that units which do not have to / cannot take a charge reaction also do not have to take a Terror test. It gives the example of a random mover. Are they exempt because of this, or do they have to take the test as implied by #3?

Mr_Rose
11-05-2013, 20:00
Basically, if a random mover rolls enough to make contact, as measured from its starting position before the roll, it's movement then becomes a charge. If things happen when charges happen, they should be inserted here; only after all that's done do you move the randomly moving model.

Buuuut… charge reactions are charge reactions. Terror is exempted by its own rules and random movers are really great at running down fleeing units. Assuming you roll high enough.

So, #2: No. Fleeing units declare reactions normally, except that the only option is "run faster, must run faster!" Being unable to declare a action means they won't be able to declare the flee reaction, much less resolve it.

And #4: Yes, they are exempt. Terrifying random chargers aren't much better than non-terrifying ones in that regard.

Note that a random mover can't really fail a charge either; if the "target" unit gets out of the way somehow†, the randomly moving model moves as far as it rolled anyway.



†for values of somehow that don't include declaring a flee reaction but might include some future spell or magic item.

Lord Solar Plexus
11-05-2013, 20:26
So, #2: No. Fleeing units declare reactions normally, except that the only option is "run faster, must run faster!" Being unable to declare a action means they won't be able to declare the flee reaction, much less resolve it.


p. 74, right-hand column, 1st para says that fleeing units must declare a flee reaction when charged by a random mover. Disclaimer: At least my German version does.



And #4: Yes, they are exempt. Terrifying random chargers aren't much better than non-terrifying ones in that regard.


The same para says that units must chose a flee charge reaction if they are charged by a random mover and have failed their terror test.