PDA

View Full Version : Arcane unforging and magic standads



Khellendr0s
14-05-2013, 11:46
Can I cast Arcane Unforging on the standard bearer of the unit (no the BSB) in order to break the magic standard the unit has?? Or do i have to cast it on the unit?? Cause the spell says "a single enemy model"

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2013, 12:05
You can only destroy an item carried by the model you targeted.

Regular rank and file models in a unit don't carry the magical banner, only the standard bearer does.

Khellendr0s
14-05-2013, 12:14
But can i target the SB of the unit??

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2013, 12:21
Yes, you can target any single model with the spell.

Archis
15-05-2013, 03:00
The fun comes in if the hit from the spell kills the model. Does the second part of the spell take effect and destroy the banner or not since a new model is carrying it.

Artinam
15-05-2013, 13:12
I was also wondering about this. Does the mundane aspect of the Standard (or even the BSB) keep working.

Elyeva
15-05-2013, 14:20
Theoretically you can cast it on a skaven slave, although you know that he has no magic item.

@Archis: Looking at the command groups rules it is impossible to snipe a standard of musician out, because another model takes his banner to hold it. A champion can be sniped though.

Archis
15-05-2013, 15:52
My point was that if the SB lives, the banner is destroyed on a 2+. If he died I'd say the spell can't destroy the banner on the "new Sb" who picked up the banner.