PDA

View Full Version : ASF+ASL vs ASF



Snake22486
30-05-2013, 04:43
What happens when a white lions unit fights against a Phoenix Guard unit. Do the Phoenix Guard get to strike first and have rerolls? Do the Phoenix Guard strike in initiative order without rerolls? Something in the middle somehow?

-Snake

furrie
30-05-2013, 07:37
When a unit has both ASF and ASL the cancel each other out, so the phoenix guard unit strikes first with rerolls. Then the white lions get to strike without rerolls. If the combat is joined by another non asf unit then the white lions and other unit strike at initiative order.

Lord Inquisitor
30-05-2013, 11:43
Yep, if you have both ASF and ASL then the rules say they "cancel out" and "neither applies" so for the purposes of other units they seem to be treated as not having either rule in effect.

Tarian
30-05-2013, 13:27
Worth noting that they still have the rule, so you can't 'double up' ASL on Swordmasters, for example, by using a Frost Phoenix + Their Great Weapons to make them ASL, since they still have ASF.

Snake22486
30-05-2013, 17:21
That seems a straight forward way of looking at it. I wish they cancelled out and were treated as not having either special rule, as the game is not as interesting when the unit cannot be given ASF or ASL.

Thanks for the replies.

-Snake

Rake
31-05-2013, 12:04
Avoids abuses by Vampire Counts... Nobody wants 3+ to hit 2+ wound ASF Graveguard with a single AOE vanhels and a CC.

Damocles8
01-06-2013, 16:44
Avoids abuses by Vampire Counts... Nobody wants 3+ to hit 2+ wound ASF Graveguard with a single AOE vanhels and a CC.

I thought Van Hel's removed ASL and gave the unit ASF?

Snake22486
01-06-2013, 17:15
That's only for zombies

Smithpod68
01-06-2013, 19:22
I had just looked at the new HE book and noticed that WL's and SM's had great weapons and ASF. Was wondering if they followed the rule book rule which said they cancelled each other out. Good to know that it does!

Lord Inquisitor
02-06-2013, 01:52
Yes, that's exactly right. On the other hand they gained an extra rank of supports.