PDA

View Full Version : Screaming Banner and Lizardmen



Zoolander
31-05-2013, 06:39
Here's a fun one for you gents. I was using the Screaming Banner against a Lizardmen player. The banner requires an opponent to roll an extra die and drop the lowest for fear tests. The LM can roll an extra die and drop the highest for all LD tests. So does the LM player:

A) Roll 4 dice dropping both the highest and lowest or,
B) Roll 2 dice, as the two abilities cancel each other out (ala ASF and ASL).

We decided to have them cancel each other out as it was a simpler result, but it did get a discussion going afterwards of the various results of both options. What do you think?

yeknoMehT
31-05-2013, 06:59
I think the rolling 4 dice and dropping the high and low dice is the correct way around - it's actually quite carefully worded for a change to allow this.

This is not quite the same as just rolling two dice, as it will increase the probability of a mediocre roll (6-8ish). So while LM tend to not have horrific Ld, it isn't great, so you might have better luck rolling 4 dice than two.

Mr_Rose
31-05-2013, 07:51
Yeah, it's like when using the casket of souls vs Lizardmen; the casket requires a straight 3d6 Leadership test but lizzies get to roll four and drop the highest.
Basically, you obey all the instructions unless you can't (there ought to be a proper resolution mechanic given in each case but the default is presently still the D6 roll off).

Zoolander
31-05-2013, 20:53
Yeah, it's like when using the casket of souls vs Lizardmen; the casket requires a straight 3d6 Leadership test but lizzies get to roll four and drop the highest.
Basically, you obey all the instructions unless you can't (there ought to be a proper resolution mechanic given in each case but the default is presently still the D6 roll off).

Doesn't the LM book simply state you roll 3 dice (as opposed to "roll an extra die")? Correct me if that's not the case. The difference in wording makes a big difference in how its played.

hamsterwheel
31-05-2013, 20:57
Not exactly but still relevant from the Lizardmen FAQ:

Q: When a unit with the Cold Blooded special rule is required to add
or subtract additional dice for a Leadership test, how does it work?
(p41)
A: Take the test on however many dice it would normally be
taken plus the extra dice from the Cold Blooded special rule and
remove the highest. For example if a normal unit would take the test
on 3D6 and add them together a Cold Blooded unit would roll 4D6,
take away the highest and then add the remaining 3 dice together.

theunwantedbeing
31-05-2013, 21:12
You could just roll 2 dice and have the two cancel out.
As you'll be rolling 4 dice and discarding 2 anyway.

Although really you should roll 4 dice and discard the highest (as per the cold blooded rule) and discard the lowest (as per the screaming banner rule).
This gives you a more average score than if you just rolled 2 dice.

Zoolander
31-05-2013, 21:22
Not exactly but still relevant from the Lizardmen FAQ:

Q: When a unit with the Cold Blooded special rule is required to add
or subtract additional dice for a Leadership test, how does it work?
(p41)
A: Take the test on however many dice it would normally be
taken plus the extra dice from the Cold Blooded special rule and
remove the highest. For example if a normal unit would take the test
on 3D6 and add them together a Cold Blooded unit would roll 4D6,
take away the highest and then add the remaining 3 dice together.

Well there you go then. Thanks.