PDA

View Full Version : Fighting a Challenge when the unit joined is destroyed?



Hadrian
29-05-2006, 19:33
Unit A and Unit B are allies. Unit A includes Hero A. Unit C is the Enemy, which includes Hero C.
Heroes A & C are independent characters who have joined their respective units in a previous turn.

A & B charge C and Hero C issues a challenge. Hero A answers the call and they start to slug it out.

Several close combat phases later, Hero A and Hero C are still slugging it out. In the meantime, the regular rank and file from Unit A and Unit B finally manage to kill the last of Unit C (Except Hero C, who is an IC fighting a challenge)

What happens now? Is Unit B no longer engaged in combat? Is Unit A stuck in place with Hero A, but unable to do anything? Does Hero C take a panic test because a unit within 6" was destroyed in CC (no, because he is in CC as well, right)? Does the challenge end or do the two heroes fight on, no matter what, until one falls?

My interpretation is that Unit B, which is not part of the challenge, may now redress the ranks and move in their next movement phase. Unit A stays where it is, unmoving, and unable to affect the fight between the two heroes. And the two heroes keep fighting until one falls.

Can someone confirm this for me?

T10
29-05-2006, 20:26
Whe combats include three or more units you may end up in the situation that one or more units are no longer in contact with the enemy. This is not covered by the rules.

However, the most appropriate way to deal with the situation is to treat the unit as no longer being engaged in the combat.

In the situation mentioned above, the Character may still be considered to be a part of unit C. There is no rule against engaging in combat with a character in a challenge - it's just that further attacks cannot be allocated to him while the challenge is being worked out. The unit(s) may still contribute to the combat resolution, though.

In a few words: Both unit A and B continue to fight unit C (now consisting of just the character).

-T10

g0ddy
29-05-2006, 22:06
This is assuming that Hero C is either unbreakable or has somehow managed not to flee from the destruction of his unit?

- g0ddy

Hadrian
30-05-2006, 01:58
That's right. Whatever circumstances, be it unbreakable or just lucky with the dice.

ZomboCom
30-05-2006, 14:28
That's right. Whatever circumstances, be it unbreakable or just lucky with the dice.

Or more likely, stubborn with a decent leadership.

g0ddy
30-05-2006, 19:05
IMHO Its reasonable to say that unit B is now free to move on to better things.

- g0ddy