PDA

View Full Version : Skull of Katam and a Daemon



AMWOOD co
02-06-2013, 07:22
Okay, this is a bit of a semantics issue, but we're here for that.

Can a Daemon Prince of Tzeentch reroll 1's for channelling when using the Skull of Katam?

Case for: A Daemon Prince doesn't have the Mark of Tzeentch and so the last sentence of the item doesn't apply to him. (RAW)

Case against: The ability in the two rules (mark vs. Daemon) is the same and so the last sentence should apply. (RAI)

Thoughts? Arguments? Death threats for another RAW vs RAI scenario being brought up?

Mr_Rose
02-06-2013, 09:37
Fluff case for: the skull is gibbering arcane secrets that would blast the mind of a mere mortal. A daemon prince is no such thing and the skull would have to try really hard to melt the brain of one aligned with Tzeentch even a little.

As for the RAI; they went to some trouble to separate the Mark and daemonic alignment and make it clear that some things only applied to one or the other, and haven't errata'd it yet so until they do I can't see it as anything other than deliberate.

theunwantedbeing
02-06-2013, 11:20
The skull of katam specifically states that wizards of tzeentch cannot re-roll results of a 1.

furrie
02-06-2013, 11:27
The skull of katam specifically states that wizards of tzeentch cannot re-roll results of a 1.

Its wizards with the mark of tzeentch.
So until FAQ'ed a tzeentch deamon prince can re-roll the ones

theunwantedbeing
02-06-2013, 15:55
Ah, completely glossed over that little point.

You know, looking through the rest of the book there are lots of instances where it refers to models with the mark of [insert god] and daemons of [insert god]
It does actually look as if being a Daemon of [insert god] is not the same as being marked, nor is that model actually marked at all.

So you can't take items that can only be taken by a marked character.
ie. Filth mace, Pendant of Slaanesh or either of the magical standards (not that he can take them anyway of course)

Yeah looks like RAW and RAI both back each other up for a change here.
The Daemon of Tzeentch gets to re-roll 1's from the skull of katam.

AMWOOD co
02-06-2013, 20:37
Thank you, guys. This was very helpful.