PDA

View Full Version : BYO Terrain and wooden walls

Greyhound
26-06-2013, 06:16
I'm in the process of building an ork fort made out of wooden sticks,which fits really well with my snakebite army.
The fort is coming along and I started looking at how the rules would work.

As it turns out, wooden walls are AV10, and the building damage chart in the book completely hose the idea of having my lads in the fort.
I'm new to 40k so please help me if I get this wrong,

1) I use the fort walls as a wooden buildings (AV10)
If I read correctly this means that a wooden building can be shot at easily and the chart will likely cause:
- all my boys to snapshots OR
- take hits, for all of them.

2) If I use the fort walls as "ruins" however the building can't be shot and my boys now have cover.
- the enemy can go through the walls/assault as difficult terrain
- I need to make sure therer's enough holes and windows to allow "true LOS"

does that mean that strictly speaking rule-wise a wooden building is a complete disaster, whereas ruins will be working much better?

MasterDecoy
26-06-2013, 11:04
1: orks are bs 2, snapshots don't bother them much
2: it makes them immune to s3 weapons and they will need 6s to wound your guys with boltersand you still get your Armor save
I'd say it's easily worth it

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Apologist
26-06-2013, 11:33
Alternatively, perhaps you could add some rubble in gaps and model it as a wooden facing on a stone/caged rubble wall? Building a fort from gabions would be a great way to keep the primitive feel while still having it as a worthwhile defence.

Cheeslord
26-06-2013, 11:36