PDA

View Full Version : What are the best/recommended miniaturealternatives to Warhammer Fantasy armies?

Campaigner
06-07-2013, 19:36
I'm new to Warhammer and want to start with Warhammer Fantasy but GWs prices are insane! I checked the pricethread here and know that most of you think the same.

A few days ago at the local gameclub I watched a game of WHF between Vampire Counts and Empire and noticed the Empireplayer had Roman miniatures....he told me that many use miniatures from other companies since they are much cheaper and that GW are so obscenely expensive since they have a monopoly. I talked to the guy working there and he confirmed that GW has a monopoly. Oh joy....

I wonder which miniatures that are recommended as replacements for WHF and if there are replacements for everything. Is there a list or something?

The local store (Not a GW store. It's called Playoteket) have a 20% discount on all GW stuff. If I'm going with GWs miniatures then the best deal would be the Island of Blood + High Elf Battalion Box. That would cost me 75€ + 84€ = 159€ With 20% of that is 127€.

A part of me wants magic, artillery, ranged firepower and big, cool units so was thinking of The Empire since they have the best artillery according to the boss of my local gamestore. Plus they have the cool Steamtank and the Luminark of Hysh/Celestial Hurricanum.
Downside is, the Empire is very expensive. When I asked the boss of the store (Göran) about which army to choose between High Elves and Empire he said:

Him: "You got alot of money?"
Me: "Yeah".
Him: "You got a really good amount of money?"
Me: "Uuuh yeeaahh..? (but wasn't thinking of spending everything I own on some ******* miniatures) () = thought, didn't say.
Him: "Empire"

mrtn
07-07-2013, 12:50