PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at O&G competitive. Please help. (2,400 points)

Snake Eyes
30-07-2013, 13:42
Hi all. I have dabbled in writing various different fantasy armies, but I have never really played Fantasy. I do own an Ogre army which I have used a few times, but I find them quite boring to play. My gaming group are planning on going to a tournament in May which is 2,400 points. To get us enthusiastic about it each of us has chosen a new army to do.

I have chosen Orcs and Gobblins because they look like a lot of fun. Whilst a fun army is what I am after, I want it to be able to hold it’s own as we are heading to a tournament with these armies. My gaming group itself is very competitive so I imagine they will each be trying to come up with competitive lists themselves.

The list below is my first draft of an Orc and Gobblin army. I have gone for a couple of things I like the look of, but have tried to stick with a competitive theme. Sadly I have no experience with Orcs and Gobblins at all, so any advice and comments on the army list would be a big help.

Lord:

Gorbad Ironclaw – 375 points

Hero:

Savage Orc Shaman – 155 points

Level 2
Lucky Shrunken Head

Night Goblin Shaman – 110 points

Level 2
Dispell Scroll

Night Goblin Shaman – 85 points

Level 2

Core:

Savage Orc Boys (39) – 449 points

Big Un’s
Additional Hand Weapons
Musician
Standard Bearer

Night Goblins (24) – 157 points

Short Bows
3 Fanatics
Musician

Night Goblins (24) – 157 points

Short Bows
3 Fanatics
Musician

Special:

Savage Orc Boar Boys (13) – 322 points

Big Un’s
Additional Hand Weapons
Musician

Rare:

Arachnarok Spider – 320 points

Flinger

Pump Wagon – 70 points

Spiky Roller
Out Riggas

Pump Wagon – 70 points

Spiky Roller
Out Riggas

Mangler Squig – 65 points

Mangler Squig – 65 points

Total 2,400 points

Kain187
31-07-2013, 19:40
For a competitive build i would add the below items:
BSB
Possibly make the Orc Shaman a lev 4 add fencer blades and drop the 3rd caster