PDA

View Full Version : Chaos dwarfs - Viable army?

Ealdwulf
27-08-2013, 03:48
So once again my adventuring into a warhammer wiki rabbit hole lead me to chaos dwarfs. I remember when I started playing warhammer fantasy back in the 90's these guys were still around in an official capacity. Such a weird but cool idea. Even if the old models were fairly bad (in my opinion).

Now with the release of the the fantastic forge world chaos dwarfs I've been entertaining the idea of grabbing some and painting them up.

A few questions from veterans that may know.

Firstly, what does the army play like? I'm not keen on buying the forge world book out of curiosity just yet I'd like to know their overall playstyle.

Secondly are these guys ever allowed in tournament play?

I'm more of a proper dwarf guy but these guys could be a nice change of pace.

MLP
27-08-2013, 04:35
I don't know about the US but in the UK they're mostly accepted now after a shaky start. GW tournament mostly allow them and as far as I'm aware most others do too. No one ever minded in pick up games or around my local area and I was normally the first person they'd seen with chaos dwarfs.

The play style is a bit of a weird mix between Dwarfs, O&G and Warriors of Chaos in my opinion. Although its a rather small list compared to your standard army book.

You have one Lord choice, who is magic and combat mixed.

The core of the army is either absolutely solid infernal guard chaos dwarfs, which are like ironbreakers but stubborn with a hero choice in there. Or hobgoblins which are basically common goblins with slightly different options.

Special choices are mostly war machines which are pretty much above average as they come and awesome with an Daemonsmith engineer. There's monstrous beast bull centaurs and monstrous infantry k'daii fireborn, the former is tough as nails and the latter are very Killy.