PDA

View Full Version : multiple charge reaction question



shargrim
09-09-2013, 15:24
”Declare charge"
The player picks one of his units and announces which enemy unit it will charge. The enemy must make its charge reaction before another charge can be declared.”
Pg 16 BRB

“There’s too many of them "
A unit might be called upon to make several charge reactions over the course of a charge sub-phase, if it is charged by several units. A unit can only stand and shoot once in a
charge sub phase- there is no time to reload. This is not to say that the stand and shoot must be used against the first charging unit – the charge can opt to hold against the first charge and stand and shoot at the second charge. It could even elect to flee! In reaction to a third charge if it wished!” (pg 18)

So, if a poor unit were to be charged by three units. Unit one declares its charge the charge holds, the second unit he chooses to stand and shoot, the third unit the charge flees. BRB pg16 "... target must lie partially within the charging units front arc."

1) If the to be charged unit flees on the third charge, taking it out of the forward arc of unit 1 and 2, would they continue the charge(because they were originally in the forward arc) or would they be considered failed charges?

2) Further since charging units 1 and 2 were not fled from as a charge reaction, would they even get to redirect since their reaction was not a flee!? the errata covers a charge against a fleeing unit or one that declares a flee as a result of the charge, not a subsequent charge that was reacted to and then fled from.

Artiee
09-09-2013, 16:17
1) unit 1 and 2 would be consider a failed charge.
2) Unit 1 and 2 would not get the redirection since the reaction a already passed. Unit 3 would get a redirection.

Spiney Norman
09-09-2013, 20:36
And the moral of that story is, don't declare the 3rd charge...

Duke_Corwin
09-09-2013, 21:17
According to the FAQ all three charging units would be allowed to attempt to re-direct their charge.

Artiee
09-09-2013, 21:55
Hmmm. Never saw it.

FAQ v1.8

Q: If multiple units have declared a charge against a unit that has
chosen a Flee! Charge response, can they all attempt to redirect their
charge if there is another viable target in range? (p18)
A: Yes. The controlling player chooses in which order to try
and redirect his charging units.

T10
12-09-2013, 11:00
So, if a poor unit were to be charged by three units. Unit one declares its charge the charge holds, the second unit he chooses to stand and shoot, the third unit the charge flees. BRB pg16 "... target must lie partially within the charging units front arc."

1) If the to be charged unit flees on the third charge, taking it out of the forward arc of unit 1 and 2, would they continue the charge(because they were originally in the forward arc) or would they be considered failed charges?

2) Further since charging units 1 and 2 were not fled from as a charge reaction, would they even get to redirect since their reaction was not a flee!? the errata covers a charge against a fleeing unit or one that declares a flee as a result of the charge, not a subsequent charge that was reacted to and then fled from.

1) Yes, they may continue the charge. Unit 1 and Unit 2 have both declared a legal charge and may proceed with executing the charge move. The target does not need to remain within line of sight and the charging unit's forward arc. The charge may fail if the target is out of charge range, or there is no open path to the target, or if the charge move restriction (a single wheel up to 90 degrees) prevents it from making contact.

2) As has been answered, charging units may retroactively be awarded the opportunity to redirect their charge flee.

-T10

bigbiggles
13-09-2013, 02:51
Yeah, what t10 said. The fist 2 units already passed all requirements to charge, so they can. It may be harder to reach the unit with just 1 wheel now