PDA

View Full Version : GF wants to play WHFB, some advise would be handy

Tourniquet
25-09-2013, 09:38
Hi Folks,

I recently got back into 40k, and, upon a visit to a GW my gf fell in love with some of the WHFB models. She already plays D&D, MTG and other such games so has the general gist of tactics and will get on great.

The issue is I have no idea what WHFB is like.
She really likes the look of the high elves, and, it helps that they are in the Starter box. But I wanted to know what are they like as an army for a complete newbie to tabletop games? Is WHFB hard to learn? And is the Starter box (the one with rules and skaven) a good start point to an army, or would she be better buying the battalion/individual units?

Also I always liked how the Lizardmen and Dark Elves looked 9I know DE are having a release soon, so its hard to gauge with them) but how are these as an opposing army for high elves?

Thanks for your time guys!

Vexare
25-09-2013, 10:01
Now, I don't have a lot of gaming experience with high elves, but I do know that they can be awesome on the table, and that starter box contains some nice as hell model and that all of them have potential in a HE army, apart from the prince on the monster.. But that is because I really don't like heroes on monsters, since they almost always gets blown to pieces by enemy cannons.. And regarding lizards and dark elves, I have little knowledge about the new lizards, and as you said, the DE gets new stuff next monthish, so no idea there either..

Oogie boogie boss
25-09-2013, 10:06
First off, awesome that your GF wants to get in to fantasy. That is the dream. Secondly, if you already play 40k, then I doubt fantasy will be too hard to pick up. It is very different, and there'll be a lot of things to get used to, but I'm sure you'll both get the hang of it before too long.