PDA

View Full Version : Charging Question



FLAKPANZER
08-10-2013, 20:35
Hi folks.

Looking to get back into Warhammer Fantasy after a long absence, and had a quick question after reading the charging section of the 8th edition rulebook.

In the image below, if unit A wanted to charge unit B, it couldn't do so without running into unit C.

How is this resolved? Is A simply unable to charge B, only being able to charge into C?

179702

Thanks.

bigbiggles
08-10-2013, 23:57
If unit A can't wheel past unit C without touching it ( looks like it can't from pic) but it can see unit B. It can declare a charge against unit B, but unless unit C moves ( failed terror or panic test or flee charge reaction to another charging unit) unit A's charge will automatically fail

dementian
09-10-2013, 04:30
If unit A can't wheel past unit C without touching it ( looks like it can't from pic) but it can see unit B. It can declare a charge against unit B, but unless unit C moves ( failed terror or panic test or flee charge reaction to another charging unit) unit A's charge will automatically fail

I agree. If you are able to wheel around the unit and make contact (assuming you rolled high enough) it is a succesful charge.

FLAKPANZER
09-10-2013, 14:01
Thanks for the replies.

So if you were not able to wheel past C without touching it, would the charge outright fail, or would you have to declare a charge against C as well per the rule on p. 18 of the rulebook under "Charging More Than One Unit" that says: "if there is no way at all of completing the charge against an enemy without touching another (sometimes known as 'clipping') then the charging unit must also declare a charge against the other unit"?

jeffzcubfan
09-10-2013, 15:23
In this edition if you can't reach the unit you declare against, it fails outright. You can't then change your target.

Jeff

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2

dementian
09-10-2013, 15:44
Thanks for the replies.

So if you were not able to wheel past C without touching it, would the charge outright fail, or would you have to declare a charge against C as well per the rule on p. 18 of the rulebook under "Charging More Than One Unit" that says: "if there is no way at all of completing the charge against an enemy without touching another (sometimes known as 'clipping') then the charging unit must also declare a charge against the other unit"?

This situation is more so when you have a wide unit charging a smaller unit with another small unit beside it and a piece of impassable on the other side. Whereby when you make contact with the unit you declared the charge against you are also in contact with the other unit. In your example you are not connecting to B and only hitting C that is not "clipping" you must first have made contact with B

Blinder
09-10-2013, 17:29
One thing to keep in mind, if the units really are spaced as per the diagram and the question about declaring against both units, if A could touch both B and C it should also be able to touch B while not-quite touching C by wheeling in place (or nearly so) from the bottom. B would then be compelled to close the door to A, which the diagram indicates (it looks like it shouldn't run into C). If B were back more it wouldn't work, of course, nor would it work if C were positioned such that it would prevent B from closing the door, but if we consider the blocks "to scale" it looks like A can quite happily charge B.