PDA

View Full Version : Aura of Despair



warplock
09-10-2013, 12:16
Just want to check about the hex effect. Am I right in thinking that entire enemy unit must be within 6 inches in order for the leadership hex to conceivably come into effect?

FatTrucker
09-10-2013, 14:51
Unless specified otherwise its usually any part of a unit that needs to be in range to affect the entire unit.

warplock
10-10-2013, 10:15
Well it says models within 6 inches. So if there are models in the unit which are more than 6 inches away, their leadership is not reduced, and the unit uses the highest leadership in their unit meaning the hex has no effect. Just want to check that there's no alternative to this.

Rake
10-10-2013, 10:26
Warplock, if you are talking about the Dark Magic lore spell called Shroud of Despair, you got all your facts wrong. The spell targets all UNITS (not models) within 12" (not 6") so it clearly works as intended.

warplock
10-10-2013, 13:05
No, I am talking about the Aura of Despair which is a rule of the Bloodwrack Shrine...

Mr_Rose
10-10-2013, 13:27
If you want people to know what you're talking about you should use the right name and probably shouldn't refer to it using game terms that don't apply. :shifty:
Which is to say that the Bloodwrack Shrine's Aura of Agony (WA: Dark Elves p.48) is not a spell of any sort so referring to it as a hex and misnaming it is naturally going to confuse people.

That said, it does specify models in that range rather than units so getting it to somewhere it can affect leaders directly is presently the only way to really affect a unit.

Rake
14-10-2013, 12:12
Agree with Mr_Rose

herohammer
15-10-2013, 19:10
It will only effect an enemy unit (for most purposes) if the whole unit is within the radius. Also remember the cauldron only grants its reroll to wound power to models within range, not units so you can have units with some people rerolling only 1s from MP and others rerolling all to wound rolls.

The awkward thing is when you consider the LD bonus to friendly from the shrine. For example a unit of corsairs (ld8) with a master in the unit are partly in range of a shrine. If the master is within 6 in. the unit will go to LD10, but if only corsairs are in range those models will go to LD9 which the master already has resulting in no real LD bonus.

Rakariel
18-10-2013, 11:27
It will only effect an enemy unit (for most purposes) if the whole unit is within the radius. Also remember the cauldron only grants its reroll to wound power to models within range, not units so you can have units with some people rerolling only 1s from MP and others rerolling all to wound rolls.

The awkward thing is when you consider the LD bonus to friendly from the shrine. For example a unit of corsairs (ld8) with a master in the unit are partly in range of a shrine. If the master is within 6 in. the unit will go to LD10, but if only corsairs are in range those models will go to LD9 which the master already has resulting in no real LD bonus.

This is not true for the cauldron imo. The rule actually says "models with the MP rule inside units in a range of 6 inch benefit from rerolls". Therefore if a unit that contains models which have the MP is in range of the cauldron ALL models in that unit which have MP benefit from rerolls. Its different for the Bloodwrack shrine aura however because there it clearly says "models in 6 inch range benefit/suffer from +1/-1 Ld." there is no mention of "in a unit".