PDA

View Full Version : Q: Deepwood Sphere and the BotWD



laribold
14-10-2013, 12:47
Hi all,

Having done a search the only thread I can come up with regarding how the Wood Elf Deepwood Sphere interacts with the BoTWD was from 7th edition.

For those that don't know, the Wood Elf item states 'all enemy models wholly or partly within the same wood as the bearer take a single Strength 5 hit at the start of each Wood Elf Magic phase'.

The hits happen in the magic phase, but aren't listed as magical attacks.


So the $64,000 question is (rather obviously) does the BotWD grant its 2+ ward save or not?


Any help would be gratefully received...

Yowzo
14-10-2013, 12:53
Yes, as those hits come from a magic item.

The fact that you have to be in a paticular piece of terrain means nothing rules-wise.

laribold
14-10-2013, 13:28
Yes, as those hits come from a magic item.


Ah, yes the FAQ seems to (kind of) cover it:

What are ‘magical attacks’? (p68)
A: All attacks made by spells and magic items are considered
to be magical attacks, as are all attacks that are specifically
noted as being magical attacks.

Should have looked at the FAQ first.

Ta