PDA

View Full Version : New to mordheim, where to start?

TrollTyg
06-06-2006, 12:05
Im kind of new to mordheim (read the rules 100 times but never played the game) and i was thinking of starting a Orc warband.
Have read some other threads on this subject and found out that its good to have atleast 3-4 heroes to start with (my club only has one power gaming mordheimer), so i thougt of taking the boss, shaman and 1 or 2 big 'uns (one if i take the shaman or 2 if i dont).
Then have some orc henches or go gobbo mad (as my heroes bully them around).
The thng i know for certain is that i have to have a boss, atleast 1 big 'un and a fanatic (its just to tempting to take a fun fanatic).
Now i wonder as i like squigs, are they worth taking? or should i wait and take some for my warband later?
Has anyone ever tried Orcs for mordheim and could give some guidelines for a great composition for a starting warband?

McMullet
06-06-2006, 12:08
I've never played orcs, but some guidelines for your starting warband would be:

-Take plenty of heroes.
-Don't go crazy on equipment
-Don't bother with any armour (except helmets and maybe bucklers)

Not sure about squigs, but unless they're cheap I'd stick to regular warband members to start with. You can buy more exotic items and henchmen later.

Have fun!

HiredSword.
06-06-2006, 12:12
McMullet has it bang on and those three rules are something you'll find out soon enough.

The great thing about mordheim is that your starting warband is not too much of a factor as you can change its composition over a few games until you are happy with it.

If you post a list then we can suggest more, but to be honest after those three rules the rest is up to personal opinion.

devolutionary
06-06-2006, 12:14
Those heros with 0 experience, look like a bunch of n00bs? Take MANY of them. I swear, Dregs in my Undead warband became unstoppable forces in no time, simply by being around.