PDA

View Full Version : Tourney Play

hd.40
23-10-2013, 21:07
I've been playing Warhammer now off and on for about 15 years and I'm thinking about trying out my first tourney.

Problem is I'm a "friendly" gamer and I've a little nervous about trying out in the "big leagues." ie: forgetting rules/pissing people off/screwing up etiquette.

Any advise to a new comer?

jeffzcubfan
23-10-2013, 22:04
1) Have fun. Plain and simple.

Depending on the tournament most players are great and friendly. If you run into Mr. Hypercompetitive, don't let it ruin your day. Just use it as a learning experience and mark him down on the sportsmanship side.

Jeff

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I777 using Tapatalk 2

Kayosiv
23-10-2013, 22:11
1. Read the rulebook again. No, don't just skim it because you "know that part already." Read the whole thing again. I'm still finding stuff I've been playing wrong for years and I've read through it 3-4 times by now.

2. Speed up your play. I'm an especially slow player, so I had to practice this quite a bit in preparation for tournaments. Make your decisions in advance. Don't think about what to charge on your turn, think about it on THEIR turn. Don't think about what spells you're going to cast, KNOW what spells you need to get off and how many dice each spell should be cast with, all ahead of time. Roll your dice fast. Be ready to roll your dice as soon as your opponent drops theirs. All these things can shave a few minutes off of every phase, which adds up to a significant amount of time over an entire game and can mean the difference between an extra turn.