PDA

View Full Version : Loremaster of Hoeth



SimaoSegunda
14-11-2013, 11:30
I was playing a game (Triumph and Treachery, as it happens) last night. I managed to get a charge into an opponent's Loremaster and depleted archer bunker with treekin. 2nd round of combat, he failed his Fear test, but then said that he got a re-roll due to having a Loremaster. It sounded odd, so I asked him to read the rule to me, and he said "any unit containing a model with this rule gets to re-roll all failed panic, fear and terror tests". Is that right? I always thought HE were an army of specialists, having a combat character who is also a caster and a mini-BSB seems a bit much. Normally it wouldn't bother me, but the loremaster ended the game with 1 wound, and 1 archer left, and basically cost me the game.

Francis
14-11-2013, 11:58
The loremaster has no such rule. Your opponent most likely cheated, the only other possibility is that he is confused about the rule "Valour of Ages" which all high elves (though not monsters or mounts) have. This rule reads like this: "If your opponent's army roster contains one or more models from Warhammer: Dark Elves, models with this special rule re-rolls all failed Panic, Fear and Terror tests." (Mat Ward, 2013, Warhammer: High Elves, pp. 36).

So if you used any dark elves in your army then he was correct in stating that he gets the reroll but wrong by saying it has anything to do with the loremaster. It is a racial wide trait.

SimaoSegunda
14-11-2013, 12:06
I did not use any dark elves in my army. Nor were there any dark elves on the board. My opponent read the rule out to me, but he didn't say anything about Dark Elves.

I get get the horrible feeling I may have been cheated.

Francis
14-11-2013, 12:10
Looks like it to me, the rule is pretty clear the way I see it. :(

theunwantedbeing
14-11-2013, 12:48
I get get the horrible feeling I may have been cheated.

Yup, he ignored the If your opponents army contains any models from the Dark Elves bit
and simply quoted the second part of the rule which was
,models with this special rule re-roll all failed Panic, Fear and Terror tests.

Always ask to see a rule if you aren't 100% sure.

thrawn
14-11-2013, 13:40
I did not use any dark elves in my army. Nor were there any dark elves on the board. My opponent read the rule out to me, but he didn't say anything about Dark Elves.

I get get the horrible feeling I may have been cheated.

ya sounds like you got cheated. he may have gottten confused (or whatever).

don't worry about it. you can feel confident you won. anyways the more you play, the more you know the rules, this won't happen to you again.

as for the other guy, don't play him again, he's a cheater.

Lord Inquisitor
14-11-2013, 14:34
As always I would assume a mistake rather than cheating at least on a one-off. We've all read what we wanted from a rule at some point or other. "Blah, blah, blah reroll panic and fear tests! Awesome!"

Akkristor
21-11-2013, 18:34
Never assume malice when stupidity will suffice?