PDA

View Full Version : SST total noob q & a

Sleazy
08-06-2006, 22:40
Am thinking about buying the SST box set but would like a few pointers..

Is it worth the cash?

would i be better with the hardback version?

I like the look of that 20 mini light infantry box set thingy.. sounds a bargain! am i missing something here?

How does it play?

Is the game still fun for someone like me who loves reading rules/fluff and building/painting armies but doesnt actually PLAY that much??

any advice would be great guys, thanks.

Col_Stone
09-06-2006, 03:58
I read the rules, after that i bought and painted a 3000+ force of MI without even a trialgame,, that's how much i enjoyed reading the rules:)

the boxed set is a bargain too, you actually get everything you need to play, there are armylists in the book for Cap troopers incl marauders (none for light MI or pathfinders tho)
and arachnids

Not exactly the same as the ones in the armybooks but good enough to learn the game from. (much better than GWs 3rd ed bbb-lists)

KingNic
09-06-2006, 10:05
Yes. I managed to get 2 tournament sized armies for 200 - cheaper than a single tournament sized army for GW.

Maybe. I think it's more of a collectors item though, or for people who dont want the armies in the box set.

It's a bargain. They were origionally gonna be plastic, but the few pictures of the plastic version released were pretty much hated globally, so mongoose resculpted them and released them as metal, while honoring the origional price.

It's what 40k should be.

Yes :) Make sure you grab a copy of the starship troopers novel.

Sleazy
09-06-2006, 10:09
cheers guys, looking forward to buying it now.

What are the plastic minis you get in the box like? couldnt really tell from looing at the box.

KingNic
09-06-2006, 10:35
They're fantastic. Keep in mind that they're realistic scale rather than heroic scale, they are a little funky at first. Once you get used to the idea of realistic scale though, you'll love em.