PDA

View Full Version : T&T: vortex and comet of cassandora



svennh
22-12-2013, 10:47
We played a 5 man game and one of the players pointed to player A to be the enemy in the magic phase.
Then he cast the comet and put the counter in the gunline of Dwarven player B.

Player A lets the spell go on.

Now the problem: Does all players have to roll for the comet to arrive? And when the comet arrives who takes damage?

Our solution was: We all rolled for the comet in our magic phase and only player A can take damage because he was the enemy when the spell was cast, so player B's dwarfs were safe.

We encountered the same problem with a vortex: Who can take damage?

Your toughts?

Lord Zarkov
22-12-2013, 11:06
I would suggest the player whose turn it is plus the enemy that phase as everyone else is neutral at the time the effect happens and thus immune to damage.
Saves on bookkeeping and is certainly fair for vortices where anyone can dispel them when they're an active player - although perhaps a little gamey for Comet.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

orionwoodking
23-12-2013, 00:52
We had similar problems when we played but ended up coming to the decision that if it would affect every model on the board in a normal game of Warhammer, then it does so in T&T. It is definitely not what the book says, though it seems rather stupid at times.

Smogg
23-12-2013, 09:35
Also played T&T recently.

We ruled that all vortex and similar spells that has some kind of counter or template on the battlefield are inactive and impassable terrain while the casting player is neutral.
We also ruled that hexes, arguments and other remain in play spells that sticks on the units are inactive (and not dispellable) while the owner of the unit is neutral.

svennh
23-12-2013, 10:11
Also played T&T recently.

We ruled that all vortex and similar spells that has some kind of counter or template on the battlefield are inactive and impassable terrain while the casting player is neutral.
We also ruled that hexes, arguments and other remain in play spells that sticks on the units are inactive (and not dispellable) while the owner of the unit is neutral.

Who does the spell hurts? Only the initial enemy or the enemy of the phase?

Malagor
26-12-2013, 13:55
Who does the spell hurts? Only the initial enemy or the enemy of the phase?
Based on the book I would say the enemy of the phase as the book states quite clearly that neutral players can't be hit or wounded in anyway.