PDA

View Full Version : Converting Baron Sathonyx

ParanoidAndroid
23-12-2013, 12:13
I have very little experience at converting models, aside from the basic head swap here and there. I've never used anything like greenstuff, and I have no sculpting experience whatsoever. I want to try my hand at converting a basic Hellion to Baron Sathonyx, and I'd like some advice on how to do so. My goal is to focus on the areas that seem to separate the Baron from a basic Hellion, based on his artwork. These are as follows:
1. Longer Hair
2. Large Cloak
3. Custom Skyboard
4. Dynamic Pose

So, give me some suggestions for the model! What bits should I use and how? How would I use greenstuff to enhance the model?

My initial thoughts were to try and make use of the cloak from the Dark Elf Shadowblade kit that just came out, though I don't know how I would attach it to the model/if its shape would fit the dynamic of the model. Heck, maybe I could use other parts from the Shadowblade model as well, as I think it's a pretty nice sculpt. Longer hair could be greenstuffed onto a Hellion head (or I could find another head entirely), and a skyboard could probably take shape from some spare Dark Eldar vehicle bits.

Here's the image I'm using to base my conversion off of.

Thanks!

Telemachus
23-12-2013, 12:45
Here's a blog where someone's done a conversion.

http://bloodofkittens.com/wargaminghub/2011/02/21/baron-sathonyx-conversion/

What about this as a base for your head?

Or this for the cloak

Would need some trimming and shaving, but might help.

Spiney Norman
23-12-2013, 12:52
I made my Baron before Shadowblade came out, if I were going to do it again I think I would just use him, swap the hooded head off for a Dark elf corsair head and use a hellion glaive.

Here is the list of parts I used for mine

1. Male Hellion body
2. Modified Hellion sky board, the blades on the side were replaced by the blades from spare raider keels to make them larger