PDA

View Full Version : New to Warhammer, Building 2000 pt dark elf army any suggestions?

Thunderrchunky
28-01-2014, 20:43
Hello everyone,

I am new to warhammer fantasy but think that the dark elves are extremely cool. I have started to buy some units but I'm not sure if I'm on the right track. Any chance y'all could help me with some suggestions on what to get to finish out a good 2000 point army? I want to beat my brothers (who play as lizardmen and skaven) but also would like to compete in tournaments eventually. Here is what I have so far:

20 spearmen (with banner and musician)
10 repeater crossbowmen (with banner and musician)
1 Kharibdyss
5 cold one knights
2 sorceresses
Shadowblade

Help is much appreciated and I am willing to add or drop things I have currently.

Thanks

Knifeparty
28-01-2014, 21:35
Welcome to Warhammer,

Dark Elves are awesome, and the new book is very powerful and versatile. DE were my first army and I've been playing them for about 14 years now and I still love the way they play as they excel in every facet of the game so it never gets boring.

To start:

You will want a lvl 4 sorceress most likely. Dark Magic is very powerful and is game changing although there are other magic lore's that work very well with the army such as Death, Shadow, Beasts or Life. I'd say just give her a dispel scroll and a 4+ ward save. You'll have to decide which lore works best with your army after you've decided on which units to purchase. For example, if you find that you use a lot of units like Corsairs or Black Guard that have many attacks but aren't strong, you should consider lore of shadow to get the spell occams mind razor. Dark Magic however; is very versatile and you could use it until you find that you need something in your army that you could find in another magic lore.