PDA

View Full Version : With so much GW hate, where are people going for their wargaming needs?

dave40k
14-02-2014, 11:16
I moved over to Privateer Press about 5 years ago due to the fun system and the more reasonable prices. Now the prices are almost right up there with GW. I sold all my Warmahordes because I wasn't playing tabletops for years. Now I want to play tabletop again but the only sanely priced minis I can find are Malifaux (different from 40k/Warmahordes playstyles so I'm not sure if I would like it) or Mantic's systems. I'm in USA and not sure how popular Mantic is. I've got the Ork half of one of the 40k 2player boxes, and my wife has a Nid battleforce. I might just bite the bullet and slowly sloooooowly expand upon those armies. Is there really no other popular alternative in the USA for wargaming?

Private_SeeD
14-02-2014, 11:44
I've moved over to warmahorde but unlike you I'm pretty new to it but already I'm getting worried that their prices are reaching hefty levels. A family member has mentioned Infinity which I've looked into but with the lack of fluff or army books like you get in warmahorde or GW I couldn't get into it or even buy a model

Sent from my Omni tool via the Sol System Mass Relay

AsleepByDay
14-02-2014, 12:31
Infinity has fluff, the free to download rulebook doesn't have that included, the expansion books build on that fluff. Game wise it is a neat little skirmish game.

Spartan games produce a range of games you might what to look at, dystopian wars is the most popular and is pretty cheap. Dystopian legions shares a lot of core rules with 40k alas the models are expensive due to all being metal.

You should check out the science fiction and fantasy games sections of the forum!

General Veers
14-02-2014, 12:33