PDA

View Full Version : Vanguarding



@allmyownbattles
18-02-2014, 11:42
Simple one: does a unit with vanguard have to move the full 12"? And, can they pivot/wheel at all?

T10
18-02-2014, 12:10
The Vanguard move is not affected by the unit's actual movement value.

If you assume that this is the distance the unit was ranging ahead of the army instead of a sudden burst of movement then it makes a lot more sense.

-T10

@allmyownbattles
18-02-2014, 18:50
That does make sense. So they can't range slightly closer to the main force should I choose?

@allmyownbattles
18-02-2014, 20:38
Also, if they're a gyrocopter for example, can they pivot when I've moved their vanguard?

Necronartum
18-02-2014, 21:19
Also, if they're a gyrocopter for example, can they pivot when I've moved their vanguard?

The rules permit you to make a 12" move. Other than restricting the ability to march (to prevent people claiming you could move 24"), you would follow the normal rules for movement.

@allmyownbattles
18-02-2014, 22:22
Ah. For some reason I had it in my head it said 'A 12" move straight forward'.

orionwoodking
19-02-2014, 03:57
In the errata, it was changed to 'may make a move of up to 12"' or something similar

teafloy_the_damned
19-02-2014, 05:41
Ah. For some reason I had it in my head it said 'A 12" move straight forward'.
I also think in 7th it was a 12" move straight forward, but i could be wrong

Lyynark
19-02-2014, 07:59
I also think in 7th it was a 12" move straight forward, but i could be wrong

You'd be very wrong since vanguard didn't exist in 7th :)

teafloy_the_damned
19-02-2014, 08:52
You'd be very wrong since vanguard didn't exist in 7th :)

HA, oops.
Must be from the errata change i remember it from then

Soulless
19-02-2014, 09:32
I dont want to make another thread so ill ask in this one. Gyrocopter cannot use steam gun after marching (so moving 20") ?

Rakariel
19-02-2014, 11:07
I dont want to make another thread so ill ask in this one. Gyrocopter cannot use steam gun after marching (so moving 20") ?
No it can`t. Only Fast Cav is allowed to march and shoot, the Gyro doesn`t fall under this type however. The Gyro can drop its bombs tho ;).

HurrDurr
22-02-2014, 22:47
Don't forget skirmishers march and shoot, your 200 year old Wood Elf Lords aren't skilled enough to march and shoot unless you place them in a unit of skirmishers to teach them how.