PDA

View Full Version : The challenge mechanic: do you like it? If not, how would you change it?

Ludaman
20-02-2014, 22:11
Exactly what the topic says, as it is now, I'm not a huge fan of the challenge mechanic, I've had a couple ideas for house rules, but I'm curious how other people feel about it, and I'm very interested in what they have to say.

Althwen
20-02-2014, 23:05
Exactly what the topic says, as it is now, I'm not a huge fan of the challenge mechanic, I've had a couple ideas for house rules, but I'm curious how other people feel about it, and I'm very interested in what they have to say.

I find that it's OK, mostly because I wouldn't know how to begin changing it. (Luckily I'm not a game designer ;)

There's one thing that has always been bothering me though, and that's the absence of magic in duels. I've always thought it weird that there isn't a separate Mage Duel. Of course this would need another deck of spells from each lore just for challenges and it begs the question if mages would be able to use these same abilities when duelling a non-mage adversary? But there's some cool art on the subject since almost the beginning of Warhammer like this one for example: http://store.wargamingtrader.com/system/files/imagecache/product_full/Z259%20-%205th%20Edition%20Warhammer%20Arcane%20Magic%20Bo ok%20%20%20%20%2012-12-17.jpg

EDIT: Mmm, now that I ook at it, I realise those two don't have to be mages at all... I always thought of them that way, though :)

underscore
20-02-2014, 23:11
Stomps/Thunderstomps/Breath Weapons always go onto the unit, as per shooting.
One someone is dead, any attacks in the following Initiative steps can be assigned as normal.

WhispersofBlood
20-02-2014, 23:17
I find that it's OK, mostly because I wouldn't know how to begin changing it. (Luckily I'm not a game designer ;)