PDA

View Full Version : Look out sir vs magic?



woodulikeanother
24-02-2014, 06:03
Do you get a look out sir roll from Cracks call spell? (skaven spell where you roll an initiative test or be slain)

Blkc57
24-02-2014, 06:30
From the Skaven FAQ:

Q: Is the 4D6" line from Crack’s Call a template? (p78) A:Yes
You are allowed a Look Out Sir roll against all template spells. SO the answer is...Yes, you get a LoS roll when someone hits you with cracks call if you qualify for it.

woodulikeanother
24-02-2014, 13:29
Cracks call is just a "hits everything in a straight line spell" there is no template used

hardyworld
24-02-2014, 16:11
As stated above, by the GW Skaven FAQ, it is a template, much like a cannon template. Furthermore, the BRB FAQ states:

Q: Does the ‘Look Out Sir’ special rule apply against all spells that use templates? (p93)
A: Yes.
So the answer would be "Yes" to your original question.

Malagor
24-02-2014, 16:57
I see no reason why they shouldn't get a LoS.
Fluff-wise they would just push the character out of the way as the crack approches

Lord Solar Plexus
24-02-2014, 18:40
there is no template used

The use of a physical template is irrelevant to the question of what is a template.


I see no reason why they shouldn't get a LoS.
Fluff-wise they would just push the character out of the way as the crack approches

Ah, but this is the rules section, not the fluff forum. Fluff-wise, the crack could approach too fast for anyone to react, so it's really completely irrelevant (most of the time).

Malagor
24-02-2014, 18:43
which is why they take an initiative test ;) To see if they are fast enough

Blkc57
24-02-2014, 18:43
Cracks call is just a "hits everything in a straight line spell" there is no template used

There is a template used, it is the line generated by the roll. How do I know this? Because as I quoted GW says so.

dementian
24-02-2014, 19:09
This was answered in the first response by Blkc57. To reiterate: per the Skaven FAQ (p 7 of the FAQ/ERRATA) http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3180070a_Skaven_v1.7_APRIL13.pdf

And from the Rulebook regarding LoS (p 93 BRB): "If a champion is hit by a template..."

SteveW
24-02-2014, 22:38
there is no template used
Sort of like a cannon?