PDA

View Full Version : 2000pt Dwarfs vs. Dark Elves

salty
04-03-2014, 02:04
Hey all! I'm new to Warhammer Fantasy (though I have been playing 40k for years), and finally got around to having my first game this evening. As part of a deal with a friend, I agreed to try and get in four games before September this year, and paint a full Dwarf throng into the bargain. Said games require battle reports, and said painting requires a plog. So here we are!

My best mate picked up Dark Elves just as the new army book was being released, however, as another Fantasy newbie (and with most of his time and hard-earned cash going on his Black Templars) he ended up fielding a largely paper-based army to get a feel for the units. Similarly, I wanted to try out a few things to see how they'd work - neither list is intended to be especially competitive as much as it is to be an experimental foray into WHFB.

We got a few things wrong, confused ourselves from time to time, and no doubt made a bunch of mistakes that we still haven't realised along the way, so if anyone has any comments or suggestions, I'd be more than happy to hear them! We also only managed three turns in the end, between eating dinner, looking up rules, and insulting each other's armies. Anyway, without further ado...

The Throng of Zhufbar

(As I had chosen Zhufbar - and before GW decided to use it for their studio army, too! - I wanted plenty of war machines and engineers in my list...)

Lord (Great Weapon with Runes of Might and Striking, Master Rune of Swiftness) - 205pts
Runelord (Rune of Spellbreaking) - 145

Master Engineer (Pistol, Great Weapon) - 82

20 Dwarf Warriors (Veteran, Musician, Standard Bearer) - 210
20 Dwarf Warriors (Veteran, Musician, Standard Bearer) - 210
12 Thunderers (Veteran, Musician, Standard Bearer) - 174
15 Longbeards (Veteran, Musician, Standard Bearer, Banner Rune of Battle, Great Weapons) - 275

18 Ironbreakers (Ironbeard, Musician, Standard Bearer, Banner Rune of Stoicism) - 317