PDA

View Full Version : Infocation of Nehek Cavalry question



EricB
05-03-2014, 14:18
Hi All,

In this VC Spell it says for Cavalry u can max Wizard lvl + 1 Wound reserect. Now does a cavalry model count as 1 wound or 2 wounds?
Both have one wound in the profile 1 for the rider and 1 for the mount.
For the purpose of shooting or CC u can only hit the rider and when he dies the mount also dies, so for killing it has only 1 wound.

iamjack42
05-03-2014, 14:36
Hi All,

In this VC Spell it says for Cavalry u can max Wizard lvl + 1 Wound reserect. Now does a cavalry model count as 1 wound or 2 wounds?
Both have one wound in the profile 1 for the rider and 1 for the mount.
For the purpose of shooting or CC u can only hit the rider and when he dies the mount also dies, so for killing it has only 1 wound.

The BRB states that the mount's wounds and toughness are never used. That alone should dispose of an argument that you need to restore two wounds to resurrect a cavalry model.

EricB
05-03-2014, 15:03
The BRB states that the mount's wounds and toughness are never used. That alone should dispose of an argument that you need to restore two wounds to resurrect a cavalry model.

In CC or when u get shot.

Lord Solar Plexus
05-03-2014, 15:14
Now does a cavalry model count as 1 wound or 2 wounds?


Easy: How many unsaved wounds do you have to cause to kill such a model?



for killing it has only 1 wound.

Precisely.


The BRB states that the mount's wounds and toughness are never used.

I think such rules are pretty lame. "Never" actually only means "until something else says otherwise". They could as well have written "are perhaps never used" or "in some instances", or left it out completely. You'll always have to see whether the rule in question overrides it.


In CC or when u get shot.

Is that a question? Could you try to write a bit more clearly please?

A model always only has one wound profile regardless of the phase. It doesn't mysteriously get more when targetted by a magic missile. That Life spell explicitly states cavalry counts as two wounds - that's an exception.

iamjack42
05-03-2014, 15:36
I think such rules are pretty lame. "Never" actually only means "until something else says otherwise". They could as well have written "are perhaps never used" or "in some instances", or left it out completely. You'll always have to see whether the rule in question overrides it.

Right. IoN is silent on the point, so the BRB rule is not overridden. Wasn't the silence of the IoN wording on this issue the whole premise for the question?

TinTip
05-03-2014, 15:41
If you're asking about restoring wounds, the whole cav model counts as a single wound when restored, however Regrowth from lore of life counts cav model as 2 wounds restored. Just another reason undead are better

EricB
05-03-2014, 15:55
Thnx all for the answers.

Artiee
05-03-2014, 17:35
TinTip has it.. The only place in the BRB that how many wounds it takes to restore a Cav Model is in the Regrowth spell of Lore of Life.