PDA

View Full Version : new to high elves. 1,000 point list

xarxes
07-03-2014, 17:18
Im pretty new to warhammer fantasy. I did some ebaying and ended up with a decent chunk of high elves for next to nothing. Ive only played one 3,000 point game thus far against some dark elves. Didnt do too bad but was still beaten.

What i could use some help with is building a 1,000 point army. Im in deep enough to know that high elves aren't the best army for a beginner and that they can be quite expensive points wise. Im just at the point i dont know where to begin. Here's a list of the models i own. If anyone can at least give me some pointers as to where to start it would be much appreciated.

CORE
49 x spearmen - built with bow and quiver to be used as sea guard
28 x seaguard
10 x reavers
SPECIAL
21 x sword masters
5 x dragon princes
1 x skycutter
RARE
10 x sisters of avelorn
2 x bolt thrower
1 x phoenix painted to pass as either a flamespyre or frostheart
CHARACTERS
Lord on dragon
Teclis
2 x mage/archmage
2 x prince on griffon

Thanks!

iamjack42
10-03-2014, 15:00
I'm no expert, but I think you could put together a list with a ton of ranged threats. Looking at your available models I might try something like:

Heroes - 170 Points (17%)

Mage - 170 Points
Level 2, High Magic,
Dispel Scroll, Khaine's Ring of Fury

Core - 255 Points (25%)

10 Sea Guard - 150 Points
Shields, Full Command

5 Ellyrian Reavers - 105 Points
Musician, Spears and Bows

Special - 363 Points (36%)

5 Dragon Princes - 155 Points
Musician

Skycutter - 120 Points
Eagle Eye Bolt Thrower

6 Swordmasters of Hoeth - 88
Musician

Rare - 210 Points (21%)

5 Sisters of Avelorn

1 Eagle Claw Bolt Thrower

1 Eagle Claw Bolt Thrower

Definitely a list that will make most opponents come to you, and has enough High Strength/Armour Piercing that heavy armor isn't much of a problem.

AM1640
10-03-2014, 20:59