PDA

View Full Version : does a unit on witch elves with a cauldron of blood have some fancy ward save?

xarxes
24-03-2014, 16:49
So i was playing a 2,500 point game vs dark elves with my high elves yesterday. It was only my third game of warhammer fantasy and something came up that i didnt understand. I casted flame cage from teclis against a unit of 30 witch elves with a cauldron of blood. i got the spell off and he had a failed dispell attempt. he then said the witches have a 3+ save and rolled a d6. he rolled a two and the spell went through. i was kind of puzzled. i then cast wind blast on the same unit and got it off. he rolled a d6 again and got a 5 and said the spell had no effect. that just sounded off to me. im pretty new to fantasy and he is just gettin back into it so our grasp on some rules arent the greatest. if the witch elves and cauldron had a 3+ ward save would he not have to roll it after my rolls for the spell?

theunwantedbeing
24-03-2014, 17:02
Sounds like he had the shadow cloak (fairly sure that;s the name) on a character in the unit.
That gives a 3+ ward vs shooting & spells.

Although it's against the damage from the spell, not the spell itself.
So it seems your opponent hasn't fully understood how ward saves work yet.

boli
24-03-2014, 17:09
The cauldron has a 4+ ward ward save and magic resistance (1). Spells targeting the cauldron of blood (and only the cauldron of blood) give a bonus to their ward save of 1 due to the magic resistance.

The unit and the models on the cauldron of blood have a 5+ ward save and NO magic resistance.

You can target either the Witch Elves or the cauldron of blood when shooting / casting spells; if you target the cauldron of blood you roll to wound as normal (against T6) BEFORE they roll the ward save(s) the rest of the spell effects still occur regardless of the outcome. (So the unit would still be pushed back and have the flame cage around them... a pretty nasty combo).