PDA

View Full Version : New to HE, 2500 point list

CountUlrich
26-04-2014, 20:36
So, I found that my Empire are not to my liking once I started playing with them really. I love my VC, but I like having two armies and so I am selling off my Empire and think I am going to pick up High Elves. I am trying to narrow down a starting force for my purchases, how does this list look? Input appreciated!

Anointed of Assuryan - ogre blade, enchanted shield, dawnstone, other trickster's shard
Archmage, level 4 (I will figure out spell synergies later) - book of hoeth, talis of endurance

Noble - BSB, sword of might, charmed shield, luckstone, dragon armor
Mage, level 2 - dispel scroll

6 reavers
6 reavers
24 Lothern Sea Guard, full command (4 ranks of 6)
15 archers

21 Phoenix Guard, full command, razor standard (Annointed, level 4 mage, and Noble BSB all go here)

10 sisters (level 2 mage here)
EC Bolt Thrower
EC Bolt Thrower
Frost Phoenix
Great Eagle

I am considering swapping to the Flamspyre Phoenix, as my local meta is heavy with horde armies (3 Skaven, 3 lizard men, 1-2 VC) and the fly over can be devastating for those.

ajb89
28-04-2014, 07:04
Looks intresting. I havent used the Anointed of Assuryan before. The level 4 with book of Hoeth is always a pretty good bet.

It looks to me like you have put a few too many points in your character selections. I usually just go for one main character Mage or CC and then a BSB. As you are looking at 2500 the extra Lv 2 seems like an ok choice. Although the book of Hoeth provides a pretty good magic defence. Down to how much magic you face in your meta I guess.

With core I have had lots of success with units of 10 archers. Can kill chaff and run around other things. Reavers are also very good at this, although units of 5 might be better to save you a little money if nothing else. Sea guard are ok, I have had mixed results with them. Tend to find they need magic or hero support to do much.