PDA

View Full Version : 40 games and the time issue?

Kadaan
17-06-2006, 16:23
I dunno about you guys but I have the feeling that every 40k game me and my buddys play tends to get longer and longer. When I started playing back in 3rd edition we usually met at about 9 pm, started playing at 10 pm and a 1500 or 2000 points game didn't last longer than 3 am maximum. Nowadays we can call ourselves lucky if we start to play before midnight. Most games are paused around dawn and finished the next day. That is, if we get to playing at all. For example, last night I had planned to play Necrons at a friend of mine. We ended up playing Xbox, cause at the time we got our army lists ready and the gaming table all set up it had become so late, that there was no point in starting to play. This really bugs me. I haven't had a decent and straight-forward game of 40k for one and a half month now.

Have any of you guys had a similar experience? How long does it take for you to finish a 1500 or 2000 point game?
Any advice on how to stop wasting so much time? I don't wanna destroy a casual game evening/night, but there's gotta be a solution.

Lostanddamned
17-06-2006, 16:45
Have pre written army lists.

lord_blackfang
17-06-2006, 16:51
No idea. In my group, games are in fact becoming faster as we learn more rules by heart and don't have to look them up, and we need less time to think about tactics than we used to. So the average 1500-2000 game went from 3-4 hours to under 2 hours.

We also have our army lists ready in advance, and the host sets up the table before the others even arrive.

When Black Roses Bloom
17-06-2006, 16:57
No idea. In my group, games are in fact becoming faster as we learn more rules by heart and don't have to look them up, and we need less time to think about tactics than we used to. So the average 1500-2000 game went from 3-4 hours to under 2 hours.

We also have our army lists ready in advance, and the host sets up the table before the others even arrive.