PDA

View Full Version : A question for Vets: Why do YOU still play 40K?

Malakai
24-05-2014, 14:54
I've been playing since 2nd edition. Since then I have kept current models for all of the armies I own and bought every edition that has come out. Admittedly there have been years that have gone by without me being able to put my models on the battlefield. Still I'm a collector and painter first and foremost so it didn't really bother me all that much. However, my collections were always centered around building an army, maybe not a competitive one but based on models that I liked. As a collector I was one of the more disappointed people of the finecast line. Still I rolled with the punches, it is 40K afterall! Prices going crazy, again I took the hit...it's 40K afterall! Sixth edition comes out..beautiful boxset!! Two armies that I already own? Hell yeah!. I bought all of the little gizmos and gadgets like the skull measuring tape, the dice packs, the wacky templates, large hardback rulebook, limited edition psychic cards for armies that I didn't even own in preparation for future opponents, hell I even bought the Dark Vengeance novel!

Unfortunately I never got a SINGLE game in with VI ed. After only two years it's pulled? What the hell? Is the shelf life for editions been moved from 4 years to two years now? Or was there some fatal flaw in the system that made GW make a mad scramble to push out a playable set of core rules? I don't get it man. So after..I don't know how many years..for the reasons stated above I think it's finally time for me to cry uncle.

But my question to the vets is why do YOU still play? I'm hoping that maybe there is a great, insightful answer out there that will change my mind and bring me back into the fold. I doubt it though so this question is really more academic than anything else.

hobojebus
24-05-2014, 15:01