View Full Version : direct damage template spells

02-06-2014, 04:03
How do you take the "place anywhere within x inches"?

As far as i know, all the template spells have this wording (pit of shades, firestorm, foot of gork etc...). So it feels like it is not specific enough to overwrite the direct damage forward arc restriction.

But anywhere is anywhere...

02-06-2014, 09:27
If the rule is "place anywhere within x inches" then I would say that the forward arc restriction is removed since the word 'anywhere' is used. I would also like to remind you of the errata, which talks about how the template fits in the maximum range, so if it did fit in the forward arc, you can still have part of it outside that arc

Q: When targeting a unit with a small or large round template,
must the whole template be within the maximum range of the spell?
A: No, the hole in the centre of the template must be within

02-06-2014, 10:55
If anywhere within X" ignores the forward arc limitation, it also ignores the not targeting units in combat restriction as well.

So generally it's better to stick to the regular spell limitations unless it specifically states you get to ignore them, like with Burning Head in the FAQ/Errata. (http://www.blacklibrary.com/Downloads/Product/PDF/Warhammer/WARHAMMER-RULEBOOK-.pdf)

02-06-2014, 14:09
I went down that path myself long time ago but had to reconsider. I think what TUB says is the way to go.

02-06-2014, 16:18
that is the way I am slightly reading it myself. buy everyone else in my group thinks that anywhere means anywhere. just thought I should get some other opinions and see how warseer plays it

05-06-2014, 16:30
Take a look at this thread