PDA

View Full Version : New to 40k - Need help choosing from 3 armies

Nez90
05-06-2014, 00:28
Hey guys.

After a long period of playing WHFB it's grown a little stale for me, so with the new 40k rules, I figure now might be the time to cross over into 40k. I picked up the rulebook a few days ago, and I've been (slowly) working my way through the book (admittedly only ready the movement/psychic phases thoroughly due to work etc).

Through browsing models, I've narrowed it down to 3 armies I'm considering as my first 40k force. Those armies are the Space Marines, the Imperial Gu- Astra Militarum, and the Necrons. They all seem to have a large number of plastic models, particularly the Marines and Necrons, which definitely appeals to me.

I'm a very slow painter, so I'm ideally looking for an army that's on the lower model count side of things. Play-style wise, what I think I'm looking for is an army that is mainly geared towards shooting, but is capable of holding it's own in close combat should the need arise. I'm far from a competitive player though, so if something isn't top tier, I'm not too fussed.

I figure that out of the three armies, the one that least suits my style is IG/AM, but the units like the Bullgryns really interest me model wise, so the IG/AM are definitely a consideration of mine.

What I'm looking for is a bit of help regarding the playstyle of the three armies, what they're good at and not so good at, and if possible, what you'd recommend as a starting point for these forces.

Any other help is greatly appreciated as well, and a big thank you for your help in advance!

Nez90

Zothos
05-06-2014, 00:41
Necron model count can be quite low. They favor shooting. Also, they can be one of the easiest armies to paint, depending on scheme.

They also have some great assault choices in Wraiths and Scarabs.

Mauler
05-06-2014, 13:57