PDA

View Full Version : Quilty of New citadel tools?

Greyfox-ex
27-06-2014, 02:24
Ok,

im very new to model making and want a good set of tool, now I'm aware this citadel toolkit is a ripoff at £90 (esp when its a few £ cheaper if bought in seprate.)

but as I'm new I want a good tool kit , with clippers that sheet, and decent files , its being bought for me as a present for someone I did a LOT of counter work for and the person doesn't exactly have money worrys so the cost of it doesn't really bother me.

but I want sonething that I know is good so if my stuff doesn't turn out that well I know its me not cheap tools, but as we all know expensive doesn't mean good.

Like citadel primer and games workshop (not citadel) shop branded brushes, from what I'm told are shocking products.

so in short are these tool good has anyone used them? As I said the cost is irelevent in this case as the person getting it for me isn't short on money and would hate it more if I have them a massive list of stuff knowing them lol

if it isn't any good does any one know of another toolkit set that's better?

any advice would be great

many many thanks

R.D.
27-06-2014, 02:53
The new clippers from what I've seen are definitely a good improvement, but I'm very hesitant about the price.

About what alternatives there are, well it depends where you are and what's available.

Greyfox-ex
27-06-2014, 03:03
Well I'm in the uk, so I can't really order from the us, as the import charges are insane.

as I said cost is NOT an issue ( for once ) as a friend is getting them for me for fixing his company server and saving him £1200+ on an engineer as its what I do for a living.

i just don't know expensive doesn't mean good.

yeah I've read the clippers "sheer" instead of "snip" so it greatly lowers the loose part pinging off over the other side of the room and taking someone's eye out, as well as them being thin and point not snub ended.