PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Tomb kings

Beattie
01-07-2014, 12:28
Hi

Im new to tomb kings and not sure where to start with the army currently I'm aiming for 1000 points and have
1 Lyche priest
1 Mounted priest
1 Prince/king sword and shield
25 Tomb guard sword and shield
32 Skelie warriors sword and shield (full command)
20 archers
5 Chariots
1 catapult
1 Scorpion

any help would be great

jtrowell
01-07-2014, 12:52
The casket is an easy choice, especially if you field 2 priests.

The sphinx kit is also very good, i you must buy only one they make a warsphinx with it. The necrosphinx upper body part can them be converted into a Hierotitan (or colossus) provided you find something to use for his legs.

Here is my unfinished conversion to give you an idea (I plan to cover the lower part in sand to give the impression of something like living sand)

Others have sculted their own legs, reused legs from toy soldiers, or used things like a Tyranid tail instead.

With this, the sphinx kit would give you :
- 1 full warsphinx with tomb guards
- 1 tomb king on foot with great weapon/halberd (easily converted with another weapon)
- the base for a hierotitan

Beattie
01-07-2014, 13:47
Love the conversion such a great idea my only question would be is a warsphinx worth using? I do like the casket and can see myself picking one up soon.

PirateRobotNinjaofDeath
02-07-2014, 17:36
1) You need more Tomb Guard. 25 isn't enough, as you'll lose half that number before they get to strike (I3 is crap), won't have enough attacks back to generate the CR to off-set that, and the rest will evaporate to crumble. You need at least 35.

If you do buy them, I would suggest putting halberds on them (if your front rank is halberds, most will accept the unit as being all halberds). S5+razor standard can punch through a unit like skullcrushers, where few other options in our army would be able to.