PDA

View Full Version : Flaming attacks



MOMUS
01-07-2014, 19:21
1. Can 'special' attacks be flaming?
Unit has spell/item/etc that gives flaming attacks, are the impact hits/stomp/thunerstomp of the unit flaming?

2. Are a firebellys impact hits flaming? (innate ability).


Opinions please :)

Mr_Rose
01-07-2014, 19:39
Stomps can't be affected unless explicitly specified so, per the FAQ.
Otherwise, the flaming attacks rule affects shooting and close combat but not magic weapons or spells so if your special attack fits that description it will be on fire too.

MOMUS
01-07-2014, 21:13
So what about impact hits?

Dazqpr
02-07-2014, 08:22
Impacts yes. Stomp is a special rule and you can put a special rule on a special rule so stops are not flaming.

Masque
02-07-2014, 09:46
Impacts yes. Stomp is a special rule and you can put a special rule on a special rule so stops are not flaming.

Impact Hits is a special rule in exactly the same way as Stomp is so this logic makes no sense. Also, how does it happen that so many people say "can" when they obviously meant "can't"? I see it a lot.

Yowzo
02-07-2014, 09:58
So what about impact hits?

Sure they do.

Settra for example has flaming impact hits.

Blkc57
02-07-2014, 23:09
Stomps and breath weapons have specific wording in their FAQs that prevent them from benefiting from any other special rules the model possess (unless their breath weapon specifically says it is has a special rule like flaming). Impact hits have no such wording and so are allowed to benefit from special rules such as flaming (so a Firebelly does have flaming impact hits) or even killing blow (A Tomb Kings chariot unit would have killing blow impact hits if the killing blow invocation is cast on it).

Relevant FAQs:
Q: Do Stomp or Thunderstomp hits benefit from any other special rules, equipment or magic items of the model that inflicts the hits? (p76) A: No.

Q: Do breath weapons hits benefit from any other special rules, equipment or magic items of the model that inflicts the hits? (p67) A: No.

Dazqpr
03-07-2014, 09:06
Impact Hits is a special rule in exactly the same way as Stomp is so this logic makes no sense. Also, how does it happen that so many people say "can" when they obviously meant "can't"? I see it a lot.

An impact hit is a special attack. A stomp is a special rule. Thats the difference.

Masque
03-07-2014, 11:15
An impact hit is a special attack. A stomp is a special rule. Thats the difference.

They are both found in the Special Rules part of the rulebook. They both cause automatic hits. Impact Hits are referred to as "close combat attacks" and Stomps are made in addition to "other close combat attacks". The word "other" means that Stomps are close combat attacks too. How are they different?

FatTrucker
03-07-2014, 20:25
Because the rules for stomps and breath weapons have specified and clarified exceptions to benefiting from other special rules, impact hits don't.

While they all might be generalised as special attacks, they're all different, and represent completely different things in a combat.