PDA

View Full Version : Empire tactics

GabrielSantar229
09-07-2014, 22:13
So I'm new to empire and in my gaming group we're having an empire centric campaign. We're starting out at 1000 points and building up from their. So far I've got1 captain of the empire with great weapon. Gonna be used as an elector count, same stat line as a gemerall of the empire but allowed to take 150 points of magic items.50 halberdiers10 crossbowmen10 knights of the empire1 great cannonSo that's what I'v got. What would you recomend I get to add to this list and what gear qhoukd I take on my units? I'm planning on gettibg some greatswords soon, what else should I get? The elctor count was compulsory so I was thinking a warrior priest next? Mostly I'll be fighting VC, Orcs&Goblins and other empire with maybe some WoC.Thanks in advance for any advice

Ben81
09-07-2014, 23:23
I'd suggest some Demigryphs as there our most powerful unit and great at decimating low strength infantry. You should also consider some chaff, maybe archers, and a wizard of some kind I think. I suppose it all depends on how many points you have spare though?

EvanM
10-07-2014, 02:07
10 Archers, 5 pistoliers are really really helpful against anyone who doesnt have BS shooting, Warrior priest is a must! I would try to see if you can "upgrade" your knights to reiksguard (stubborn knights is too good) or just ICK. Demigryphs can be very good and only require under 200pts for a unit of 3.

A mounted Warrior priest makes the knights awesome on the charge. A lvl 4 wizard is definitley nice at 1500 pts or more.

okay ramble ramble.... heres what i would do: add 2x 20-25 man detachments to the halbs of either swords or halberdiers, then get 10 archers, add a warrior priest (foot or mounted), and a wizard at lvl 2 or lvl4.