PDA

View Full Version : Please help with WHFB HE 1250 point list. Lost newbie here.

Dkrewe
23-07-2014, 03:32
So I am brand new to the game. Have never even played a single game. I am not even fully finished putting together the last of my models (will explain more below). My friends are running Dwarven and Skaven lists to play with me as we all learn the game. I am clueless as to how to put together a good 1250 list for my starting army. Here is what I have for units so far (with options to buy a few more as needed):

Isle of Blood box had:

x1 Griffon with Prince/noble riding it
x1 Mage
x10 Lothern Sea Guard
x10 Sword Masters of Hoeth
x5 Ellyrian Reavers

I then bought:

x10 Shadow Warriors
x5 Dragon Princes

And the battle box came with (haven't even assembled them yet because of certain model choices):

x1 Eagle Claw Bolt Thrower
x1 Tiranoc Chariot OR x1 Lion Chariot of Chrace (choice 1)
x20 Spearmen or Lothern Sea Guard (choice 2)
x20 Archers

Any recommendations/advice/tips etc would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you :-)

ModernKiwi
23-07-2014, 04:00
That Prince/Noble on a Griffin is going to be at least 220 of your points. Are you sure you want that much tied up in your general?

I use lots of Lothern Sea Guard when I take on Skaven - haven't ever taken on dwarves mind you.

Swordmasters with the Banner of the World Dragon will make the little ratty b'stards very unhappy too.

Dkrewe
23-07-2014, 04:08
Well I am a newbie so I was staring at my beautiful model and thinking how great it would be to throw him at my enemies....but like you said he is very expensive.

I am not sure who else to make my general.

ModernKiwi
23-07-2014, 04:11
Yes it's a lovely model alright. Since you're only starting out, how about assemble one of your Dragon Princes and call that one your prince/noble/general? Steed with barding is only 20% of the cost of your Griffin and still keeps him highly mobile.

Dkrewe
23-07-2014, 04:18