PDA

View Full Version : Great Stag and Drycha



Wesser
07-08-2014, 18:34
Can't make up my mind on this.

Is the Great Stag and it's rider a Forest Spirit for the purposes on Drycha's Deep strike rule?

SteveW
07-08-2014, 19:02
Do they have the rule "forest spirit"?

Smithpod68
07-08-2014, 20:25
Stags do,but the rider would not as the rider would be an elf who does not have Forest spirit as a special rule. In Storm of Magic however,you can take stags as a herd so you could do it then.

Wesser
07-08-2014, 20:42
Do they have the rule "forest spirit"?

The Mount yeah, but not the rider specifically... Dunno if that makes it count

Wesser
07-08-2014, 20:46
Do they have the rule "forest spirit"?

The Mount yeah, but not the rider specifically... Dunno if that makes it count

furrie
08-08-2014, 05:27
If just read the first part of the rule and the whole unit must have the forest spirit rule, so no a great stage with rider can't be chosen for Drycha's special rule.

Wesser
08-08-2014, 05:42
If just read the first part of the rule and the whole unit must have the forest spirit rule, so no a great stage with rider can't be chosen for Drycha's special rule.

That's no help furrie...The rider isn't a model by himself you know


A rider and mount is one model.

If one part of the model have the Forest Spirit rule (namely the Stag) then does the whole model have it? Yes or no?

Avian
08-08-2014, 06:11
No, they do not. Only a few special rules transfer to the rider and that's not one of them.

Wesser
08-08-2014, 13:13
Damn... well saves me the cash for buying Drycha I guess

bigbiggles
09-08-2014, 21:38
She makes a great branchwraith

teclis_16
10-08-2014, 13:15
I would say yes. A normal elven steed has the fast cavalry rule. When you put an elf on him does the model lose fast cavalry? No! The rider gains the special rule.
I would say the stag and rider would share the special rule since they are one model.

Avian
10-08-2014, 14:59
In the case of fast cavalry that is actually mentioned in the rules as an exception. Forest spirit is not an exception.

Ravenar
10-08-2014, 23:01
Even if they do not now become one model and essentially share a profile?

Avian
10-08-2014, 23:09
Go read the rulebook. :p

Masque
11-08-2014, 00:32
I don't have access to the Wood Elf book. Can someone give us the exact wording of Drycha's relevant rule?

Wesser
11-08-2014, 06:36
It says

"units consisting entirely of models with the Forest Spirit rule"

Thought about making a Dryad unit with Drycha and a Stag Lord with Potion of Strength to make a beefy unit, which wouldn't mind not starting on the board. But without the Stag Lord Drycha and her dryad friends are too low-strength for what I want such a unit to do

Masque
12-08-2014, 04:16
I think I'd rule that an Elf on a Stag is a model with the Forest Spirit rule and would count for Drycha's ability.

ewar
12-08-2014, 10:48
I think I'd rule that an Elf on a Stag is a model with the Forest Spirit rule and would count for Drycha's ability.

Out of interest, why would you do that? What other rules for mounts do you think should confer to the rider? There are quite a few... not sure why you'd pick one and not others.

Mr_Rose
12-08-2014, 12:16
It's not a matter of the rule being conferred to the rider—they wouldn't get the ward save, for example—it's a matter of whether "the model" which is comprised of two parts "has the rule" which it does since one if its parts does.

Ravenar
13-08-2014, 06:12
I must say I agree with Mr. Rose's logic. The model (combination of character and monstrous beast) share certain profiles and rules. In this case, the model (assuming Glade Lord mounted on Great Stag) should have Forest Spirit, Forest Stalker, Impact Hits, Cause Fear, Stomp, etc...

ewar
13-08-2014, 11:56
What about a glade lord on forest dragon - would that also qualify? The two don't share a single profile but the dragon is a forest spirit. Does that also constitute a single model? I don't think it is compatible with the requirement in the Wood Elf book to have the whole unit consisting of models with the forest spirit rule.

Wesser
17-08-2014, 09:33
The mystery thickens .....

Ikhoornix
19-08-2014, 09:37
I don't think a mounted Great Stag would count. The reason is that, when looking at WoC, the WoC Skullcrushers don't take extra damage from Light spells, even though their mounts are deamonic.

ArtificerArmour
21-08-2014, 21:18
But the juggernauts don't have the daemon of khorne special rule.