PDA

View Full Version : Refused challenges



Dark_Mage99
15-08-2014, 08:12
Example: a vampire refuses a challenge from a chaos lord who charges his bunker.

The lord cuts the ghouls down to three models.

Next turn, can he refuse the challenge again or is he prevented from doing so as he has to be in the front rank and there are only three models left?

Also, if he refuses and the lord kills the remaining ghouls, can his disc mount attack the vampire even though he refused the challenge?

Josfer
15-08-2014, 08:26
@1: He can refuse the challenge as long as he has a place to go where he doesn't touch an enemy. So if you would conga line the ghouls for example, he could easily move to a further behind spot. Same is true if the CL only touches 1-2 models in the 3 model unit.

@2: If he refuses he isn't immune to attacks, he is only forbidden to attack. So if he steps up because of kills in a high initiative phase, he can still be attacked in a lower initiative phase (most prominent example would be thunder-/stomp I think).

Dark_Mage99
15-08-2014, 10:33
At the end of the phase he was at the back of the 3 man ghoul unit:

..V..
GGG
..CL..

Does he then get forced to the front rank after combat, or can he sit back there?

Masque
15-08-2014, 10:47
At the end of the phase he was at the back of the 3 man ghoul unit:

..V..
GGG
..CL..

Does he then get forced to the front rank after combat, or can he sit back there?

How wide was the Ghoul unit before the combat started? Was it only 3 wide? Is the Chaos Lord alone on foot or cavalry so he only touches 3 Ghouls?

Dark_Mage99
15-08-2014, 10:54
The Lord is on his own on a disc, the ghouls were 5 wide two ranks.

Masque
15-08-2014, 12:18
Since the unit was in a 5 wide formation the Vampire would have to step up into the front rank. A Disc is wide enough it should touch 4 models on 20mm bases so the Vampire would be forced to accept the second challenge.

Josfer
15-08-2014, 22:41
What Masque says (if you didn't reform).

furrie
16-08-2014, 07:11
What Masque says (if you didn't reform).
they couldn't reform, as it would take models out of combat.

Blkc57
16-08-2014, 17:31
they couldn't reform, as it would take models out of combat. furrie is correct, that when players make a combat reform they can never reduce the number of models in combat. So if 4 models were in base contact with The Lord on disc, at the end of the combat reform you need 4 models in base contact with the chaos lord. It's why masque mentions the vampire would be forced to accept he challenge the next time around.

Josfer
17-08-2014, 06:12
You are right, that you don`t have to reform, you can just step up for the model not in base contact (thinking error by me, the vamp is stepping up). A five wide unit will have one model not in base contact on either side, lose the outer two at the same time and you can decide which one you replace with the Vamp.

IF the model you don`t want to fight is already in the front row (so fighting the enemy), you can make a reform.