PDA

View Full Version : Purple Sun of Xerxes Questions



elthran
15-10-2014, 19:38
Can you place the template so that it will touch a unit in combat?

Can you place the template so that it could move onto a unit in combat?

Can you cast it if you are in combat? (because a misfire will make it land on yourself)

Does it affect every unit along the path it moves (so if you misfire it will hurt the caster) or does it only affect models where it lands? So do I move the template along the path and see who is touched, or just put the template at the end of the path?

Thank you!

thesoundofmusica
15-10-2014, 19:42
Yes
Yes
Yes

Every model touched along its path.

Hulkster
16-10-2014, 08:56
I didn't think you could cast a Vortex in Combat?

Josfer
16-10-2014, 11:47
I didn't think you could cast a Vortex in Combat?
Based on what restrictions? I only see "has to touch base" and "center has to be in the forward arc" as far as placement of the vortex goes.

Hulkster
16-10-2014, 12:18
Based on what restrictions? I only see "has to touch base" and "center has to be in the forward arc" as far as placement of the vortex goes.

Based on I don't have the rulebook with me at work and I though you couldn't cast vortex's from combat

theunwantedbeing
16-10-2014, 12:57
Based on I don't have the rulebook with me at work and I though you couldn't cast vortex's from combat

You can cast almost any spell while in combat, you're just not allowed to target enemy units that in combat.
A vortex doesn't have a target so isn't bound by this rule.

Hulkster
16-10-2014, 12:59
You can cast almost any spell while in combat, you're just not allowed to target enemy units that in combat.
A vortex doesn't have a target so isn't bound by this rule.

thanks. mind playing tricks on me lol

Metacarpi
16-10-2014, 15:03
Based on I don't have the rulebook with me at work and I though you couldn't cast vortex's from combat

Just thought I'd drop by and say this might be the best post I've ever seen on Warseer.

Hulkster
16-10-2014, 18:36
Just thought I'd drop by and say this might be the best post I've ever seen on Warseer.

May I ask why?

Metacarpi
18-10-2014, 09:22
May I ask why?

Just nails my sense of humour.

innerwolf
18-10-2014, 10:59
If Xerxes was able to cast Purple Suns, why didn't he use it against Leonidas in 300? It would have toasted the spartans in no time :D

Lord Dan
18-10-2014, 11:28
May I ask why?

Because the exchange basically boiled down to:

"I thought it worked this way..."
"Why?"
"Because I thought that was how it worked."

;)

Hulkster
18-10-2014, 16:34
Yeah I was hoping it was meant that way haha

I'm glad that came across lol

Yowzo
18-10-2014, 16:49
If Xerxes was able to cast Purple Suns, why didn't he use it against Leonidas in 300? It would have toasted the spartans in no time :D

Spartans are I6 and re-roll failed stat tests.

No luck for poor Xerxes :D