PDA

View Full Version : can the war altar join a unit? (this might be a stupid question...)



EvanM
23-10-2014, 19:47
This may be a dumb question, but can the war altar join a unit of say knights or infantry? I am almost entirely certain that it cant... its a chariot.... but someone did this at a tournament (in a video i was watching) and i was a intrigued.

Hulkster
23-10-2014, 20:13
No because chariots cannot join units neither can characters on chariots

the only exception to this is Tomb Kings and the army book specificly states that it is an exception

Even in undead legions, a coven throne cannot join a tomb king chariot unit

the people in the video were wrong or using their own rules

Malagor
23-10-2014, 20:13
No it cannot.
Chariots can't join units.

theunwantedbeing
23-10-2014, 20:27
Can we have a link to the tournament video?

EvanM
23-10-2014, 20:28
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1m8jPmM-Xo&list=UUK8TpgCoegFJJE8uUkjVnQg

theunwantedbeing
23-10-2014, 21:31
Heh, just look at the guys list.
The Arch Lector is toting two pieces of magical armour (armour of destiny and the charmed shield).
Seems he also pursued the war altar out of a unit he had joined, which he's not allowed to do.
Not sure if he even had enough core either (he hasn't assuming the list at the start is complete, which it isn't).

I wonder if he pulled the same crap in his other battles.

dms505
23-10-2014, 21:33
Cauldron of Blood and Bloodwrack Shrine also have special rules allowing them to join. But normally no.

EvanM
23-10-2014, 21:43
What the flying crud....

Sexiest_hero
24-10-2014, 05:43
No wonder he did so well. He was cheating like crazy. My thing is how did nobody catch this at all????

Malagor
24-10-2014, 07:33
Either cheating or very ignorant of the rules or the tournament got some odd house rules.

Sexiest_hero
24-10-2014, 17:38
brawlers bash is one of the big fantasy tournies in the USA. How did nobody catch that is me question?

Lord D'Mim
24-10-2014, 20:00
brawlers bash is one of the big fantasy tournies in the USA. How did nobody catch that is me question?

if he wasnt a top table contestant, i can see how it was missed.

it hinged on him not being called out. He wasn't, so got away with it.

Col. Tartleton
30-10-2014, 05:11
No because chariots cannot join units neither can characters on chariots

the only exception to this is Tomb Kings and the army book specificly states that it is an exception

Even in undead legions, a coven throne cannot join a tomb king chariot unit

the people in the video were wrong or using their own rules

True to form, Skaven cheat by not calling them chariots...

Screaming Bell? It's just me pony Ol' Bill... Honest gov'na. Never you mind the masonry.

202360

Liber
30-10-2014, 06:03
Screaming Bell? It's just me pony Ol' Bill... Honest gov'na. Never you mind the masonry.

202360

:yes:

If I played skaven I would 100% sig this.


Somebody should!

Theocracity
31-10-2014, 21:48
True to form, Skaven cheat by not calling them chariots...

Screaming Bell? It's just me pony Ol' Bill... Honest gov'na. Never you mind the masonry.

202360

To be fair, I wouldn't classify a Screaming Bell or Plague Furnace as a 'chariot' in the first place. They're only chariots because of the rules kludge necessary to reflect their odd traits. 'Melee-range, wizard-carrying war machine' doesn't really have any other classification. Same for the Dark Elf shrines.