PDA

View Full Version : Graveguard conundrum

Tensler
27-10-2014, 11:36
Im new to VC and dont plan on using end times.
So i was thinking about having a corpse cart to provide my vampires with ASF and clear some points on the vampire to get other upgrades. I will mostly be playing against armies with 3I and lower will be considered the norm, with only a few WoC and daemons marking an exception here. I will however engage mixed armies. So i was wondering if going sword and board on the ol grave guard would be worth it for the re-rolls to hit and durability or if GW are auto include.

I also happen to prefer the sword n board models so that is a factor here - albeit a minor one.

What do you think?

Malagor
27-10-2014, 11:40
HW/S grave guards work perfectly well.
They are S4 afterall so they got a bit of a bite and killing blow.
That they are tougher to kill is a added bonus.

Ayin
27-10-2014, 12:32
Nothing wrong with HW&S Graveguard. They may not be as good as Great Weapons, but that doesn't mean they are not a good choice. GW Graveguard are a threat to anything. S6 means they can take out monsters and tear through Monstrous Infantry and Monstrous Cavalry, and their lose of any extra durability is countered with the VC power to resurrect them, whereas HW&S increased survivability is negligible against those kinds of targets since you don't get the Parry against breath weapons, and stomps and Killing Blow won't help you overcome the loss of killing power either.

With Monsters, Monstrous Infantry, Monstrous Cavalry and Chariots being a pretty big part of the game, being flat out worse against them for little bonus will be noticeable to your force, but if you've got some other source of killing power, it's still something you can use and succeed with.

EvanM
27-10-2014, 15:24
Build your guys with sword and shield, then put the great weapon bits on their backs to make them look like they are carrying both.

Then you could pick when you play a game with them.